“I Can Endure No More!” My Thoughts Exactly, Norrin.

19 Stan-Scripted Silver Surfer Soliloquies

Don’t get me wrong, I loves me my Silver Age Marvels, but man oh man there was something about the Silver Surfer that brought out the worst kind of preachiness in Stan Lee.

I mean, I get it: he’s supposed to be a Christ figure, a guy who gave everything to save his planet and someone whose status as an outsider makes it easy for him to offer the occasional comment about “man’s folly” or whatever.

But when Lee was in charge of the character’s dialogue, he couldn’t let the Surfer go more than five minutes without breaking into a woe-is-me/what-a-piece-of-work-is-man soliloquy that would have made freakin’ Hamlet go, “Dude, just chill.”

What do I mean? Like they say in the business, let’s roll that clip:

1.
surfer-yeti

2.
surfer-ants

3.
surfer-beasts

4.
surfer-blessedsphere

5.
surfer-darenotriskrefusal

6.
surfer-deadliest

7.
surfer-dream

8.
surfer-fate

9.
surfer-finalfate

10.
surfer-forsaken

11.
surfer-hostile

12.surfer-inalltheworld

13.
surfer-unite

14.
surfer-love

15.
surfer-madness

16.
surfer-manalone

17.
surfer-men

18.
surfer-money

19.
surfer-prison

One response to ““I Can Endure No More!” My Thoughts Exactly, Norrin.

  1. Well, lovely John Buscema artwork, at least, with a couple of nice Jack Kirby images, as well.

    Speaking of Kirby, I can understand why he was not especially thrilled with how Stan Lee scripted the character. The Silver Surfer was one of the few Marvel characters from the 1960s that Kirby had created without any input from Lee. So it could not have been too pleasant for Kirby to see Lee fall in love with the Surfer and more or less steal him away, giving him a completely different origin than what Kirby intended, and making him a mopey, whiny killjoy.

    I’m not one of those people who subscribes to the whole “Kirby vs Lee” debate. I think both of them played a vital role in the Marvel comics of the 1960s being so revolutionary. But I do agree that Lee probably should have been more respectful of Kirby’s intentions when it came to the Surfer.

Leave a Reply

